top of page
Writer's pictureB Does Life

DIY Natural Stick Deodorant and Body Mist

Over the last couple of months, I have really become aware of all of the “unnatural” things that are in the hygiene/beauty products that we use.


I first started becoming aware of it when my sister kept bugging me and saying that I should start using a day and night cream otherwise I’ll start looking old at a young age. I have sensitive skin in general, so I made sure that I bought something natural and suitable for my skin but when I had a look at the ingredients it wasn’t that natural after all. I resolved the problem by making my own All Natural skincare products but that’s a post for another day.


I’m a sucker for a good smelling deodorant/fragrance/body mist but it’s hard to find one that is 100% natural so I decided to make my own stick deodorant and body mist with some of my favorite essential oils as the scent.



DIY Stick Deodorant

Ingredients:

· ⅟₄ cup Shea Butter

· 3 tablespoons Coconut Oil

· 3 tablespoons Baking Soda (Substitute: Baking Powder)

· 2 tablespoons Arrowroot (Substitute: Corn Starch/Cornflour)

· Essential Oils (I used Lemongrass)

Other items that you’ll need:

· An empty solid deodorant container (I reused an old one that I had recently finished)

· Measuring Spoons

· Heatproof/Microwave safe measuring cup with a spout


Steps:

1. Place the Shea Butter and Coconut oil in the measuring cup and microwave on high until melted. Stir after 20 seconds intervals.


2. Stir in the arrowroot/corn starch/cornflour and baking soda/baking powder into the melted mixture and add the essential oil (drops depending on how strong you want the scent to be) and mix well.



3. Pour into the deodorant container and refrigerate for 2 hours. Use as you would use normal deodorant.





DIY Body Mist

Ingredients:

· 90ml Distilled water

· 2 teaspoons Himalayan salt

· 30ml Witch Hazel

· ⅟₂ teaspoon Baking Soda (Substitute: Baking Powder)

· 10 drops Essential oil

Other items you will need:

· 150ml empty spray bottle

· Measuring spoons

Measuring cup with a spout


Steps:

1. Pour the distilled water, witch hazel, and essential oil into the measuring cup and pour it into the bottle.

2. Pour the Himalayan salt and baking soda/baking powder into the bottle.

3. Close the bottle and shake well.

Shake well before each use


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page